2018 Season Player Awards

2018 Season Player Awards

23 Sep 2018

Following the conclusion of the 2018 season we can now announce the winners of the individual player awards for each section from each division.

It’s been a fine season for Hoylandswaine whose 1XI swept away with the Byrom Shield and T20 Trophy. Unsurprisingly they dominated the batting and bowling with Durham’s Alex Lees enjoying an outstanding first season as many of his heavy scores pushed his average up to take the Tom Oldham batting prize. His teammate Adnan Ghani received the honours for his bowling with the strike bowler’s consistency shining through above previous winner Nazir Jamal (Shepley). However, the Marsh Lane team can boast the Cyril Thorpe Cup winner with Shahban Raheem claiming the prize for wicketkeeping for the third successive year with a mammoth 45 victims; an average of 1.73 scalps per match!.

In the Championship, Rastrick may have missed out on promotion for a second successive campaign but captain Jacob Waterson was a key component of their side with the bat and takes the Hedley Dawson Cup for his batting exploits. Skelmanthorpe captain Mike Kitson’s lethal prowess with the ball snagged the Ron Tindall Bowling Cup in the same division with Holmfirth captain Seb Allen receiving his first wicketkeeping award after claiming 36 victims throughout the campaign.

The Conference was dominated by title winners Denby with two players taking awards. Batsman Farhan Hussain and bowler Zafar Jadoon took the honours with Cumberworth United’s Matthew Dolley claiming the wicketkeeping trophy.

The full list of prize winners is below. The awards for match-winning performances of the season at 1XI and 2XI levels will be decided at the next Executive Committee meeting and will be announced following that, along with the special awards for young player and all-rounder of the season.

All awards will be presented at the annual dinner on Friday 9 November at the Cedar Court Hotel, Huddersfield.

Drakes Premiership

Tom Oldham Trophy: Batting                     
Alex Lees (Hoylandswaine) - 1119 runs;  Average 86.08

Tom Oldham Trophy: Bowling                        
Adnan Ghani (Hoylandswaine) - 44 wkts; Average 12.00

Cyril Thorpe Cup: Wicket-keeping                    
Shahban Raheem (Shepley) - 45 victims

Clifford Sykes Cup: Fielding                        
Timmy Taylor (Honley) - 20 catches

Jedi Sports Championship    

Hedley Dawson Cup: Batting                         
Jacob Waterson (Rastrick) - 431 runs; Average 53.88

Ron Tindall Cup: Bowling                        
Michael Kitson (Skelmanthorpe) - 42 wkts; Average 11.36

Harry Mellor Cup: Wicket-keeping                    
Seb Allen (Holmfirth) - 36 victims

Michael Pamment Family Cup: Fielding                    
Luke Bridges (Barkisland) - 23 catches

Cedar Court Conference

Ronnie Sykes Trophy: Batting                        
Farhan Hussain (Denby) - 547 runs; Average 49.73

Hedley Collins Trophy: Bowling                    
Zafar Jadoon (Denby) - 69 wkts; Ave 11.65

Anderson Cup: Wicket-keeping                        
Matthew Dolley (Cumberworth Utd) - 32 victims

Stephen Sykes Trophy: Fielding            
George Smith (Cumberworth Utd) & Tom Mighall (Upperthong) - 14 catches each

Drakes Premiership Two

Earnest B Whittle Trophy: Batting                 
Richard Jakeman (Honley) - 1134 runs; Average 94.50

Colin Garthwaite Trophy: Bowling                    
Jack Lockwood (Hoylandswaine) - 40 wickets; Average 8.60

Hemingway Cup: Wicket-keeping                    
Ben Harris (Honley) - 29 victims

J F Moran Cup: Fielding                        
Jacob Holling (Cawthorne) - 16 catches

Jedi Sports Championship Two

Charles Wilkinson Cup: Batting                        
Louis Aspeling (Golcar) - 649 runs; Average 72.11

Frank Townend Cup: Bowling                        
Gary Pemberton (Delph & Dobcross) - 35 wickets; Average 8.91

George Harrison Cup: Wicket-keeping                    
Martin Gledhill (Holmbridge) - 27 victims

David Taylor Cup: Fielding                        
Andrew MacLeod (Holmbridge) - 18 catches

Cedar Court Conference Two

E C Peel Trophy: Batting                        
Majid Hussain (Cartworth Moor) - 939 runs; Average 62.60

Vernon Oldfield Trophy: Bowling                    
Tom Heaton (Mirfield Parish Cav) - 32 wickets; Average 10.16

Mark Earnshaw Cup: Wicket-keeping                    
Irfan Muhammad (Cartworth Moor) - 22 victims

Roy Kilner Trophy: Fielding                        
Mark Beaumont (Hall Bower) - 18 catches

Cedar Court Conference Three

Liam Brothers (Shelley) - 378 runs; Average 47.25

Andy Morris (Upperthong) - 29 wickets; Average 9.31

Neil Mountain (Flockton) - 22 victims

Matthew Woodhams (Lascelles Hall) - 14 catches


Latest News

Extra Advertising Tier Just For Clubs 

Birkby Survive Bridge Inquest For Rare Success - Jedi Championship Matchday #6 Report

Abbas Surprise As Delph Lead Table - Premiership Matchday #6 Report

Bridge Blunt Raza Spirit To Stay In Hunt - Jedi Championship Matchday #5 Report

View all news »