2021 Player Awards

2021 Player Awards

18 Sep 2021

Skelmanthorpe enjoyed a terrific season by picking up the Championship and Championship Two titles, along with the Paddock Shield for their 2XI, but also their batters dominated by winning both awards at first and second team level.

Ryan Robinson (pictured above) took the Hedley Dawson Cup; the Jedi Championship batting award. The deeply experienced former Elland, Kirkburton and Hoylandswaine all-rounder has been an integral part of Skelmanthorpe’s rise back to the top division and he won with an average of 59.63. Ironically, this is the first time he has picked up a Huddersfield Cricket League batting award. His club mate Bradley Geldart took the Championship Two batting prize.

Matt Henshaw (Almondbury Wesleyans, pictured above) enjoyed another strong season with the ball by winning the Ron Tindall Cup with 39 wickets as he helped his club pip Meltham on the final day to promotion to the Premiership. Meltham gained some consolation with wicket keeper Sam Clegg’s 34 victims earning the Harry mellor cup. Callum Power (Shelley) took the Fielding award with 20 catches.

Jacob Mulhall (pictured above), who had returned to Lepton Highlanders in 2020 after a season at Golcar, captained his team to promotion from the Cedar Court Conference and he also won the Ronnie Sykes batting trophy with an average of 47.00. Cumberworth’s George Smith, Richard Charlsworth-Haynes (Emley Clarence ) and Ben Charlesworth (Upperthong) gained the bowling, wicket-keeping and fielding awards.

A pair of players who had enjoyed great success at first team level over the years took the Premiership Two batting and bowling trophies. Darren Robinson (pictured above), a Sykes Cup winner with Barkisland in 2015 won the Colin Garthwaite Trophy for bowling with teammate James Summerscales winning the Ernest B Whittle Trophy for batting. In Conference Two, Holmbridge’s Andrew MacLeod won his third consecutive fielding award along with the batting prize in another successful campaign personally.

The full list of player award winners are below. Several special awards are yet to be determined and will be announced in due course.


Tom Oldham Trophy: Batting 

Charlie Roebuck (Broad Oak) 743 runs Average 61.92

Tom Oldham Trophy: Bowling 

John Keeling (Kirkburton) 58 wkts Average 12.06

Cyril Thorpe Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Ben Harris (Honley) 29 victims

Clifford Sykes Cup: Fielding 

Alex Kemp (Thongsbridge) 18 catches

Jedi Sports Championship

Hedley Dawson Cup: Batting 

Ryan Robinson (Skelmanthorpe) 477 runs Average 59.63

Ron Tindall Cup: Bowling 

Matthew Henshaw (Almondbury Wes) 39 wkts Average 12.54

Harry Mellor Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Sam Clegg (Meltham) 34 victims

Michael Pamment Family Cup: Fielding 

Callum Power (Shelley) 20 catches

Cedar Court Conference

Ronnie Sykes Trophy: Batting 

Jacob Mulhall (Lepton) 658 runs [Ave: 47.00]

Hedley Collins Trophy: Bowling 

George Smith (Cumberworth Utd) 42 wkts [Ave: 9.71]

Anderson Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Richard Dalton-Haynes (Emley) 27 victims

Stephen Sykes Trophy: Fielding 

Ben Charlesworth (Upperthong) 16 catches

Premiership Two

Earnest B Whittle Trophy: Batting 

James Summerscales (Barkisland) 575 runs [Ave: 63.89]

Colin Garthwaite Trophy: Bowling 

Darren Robinson (Barkisland) 38 wickets [Ave: 11.53]

Hemingway Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Will Sykes (Scholes) 25 victims

J F Moran Cup: Fielding 

Joshua Moore (Golcar) 11 catches

Jedi Sports Championship Two

Charles Wilkinson Cup: Batting 

Bradley Geldart (Skelmanthorpe) 696 runs [Ave: 116.00]

Frank Townend Cup: Bowling 

Liam Moran (Broad Oak) 26 wickets [Ave 10.69]

George Harrison Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Ben Ward (Elland) 21 victims

David Taylor Cup: Fielding 

Jordan Williamson (Elland) 11 catches

Cedar Court Conference Two

E C Peel Trophy: Batting 

Andrew MacLeod (Holmbridge) 478 runs [Ave 43.45]

Vernon Oldfield Trophy: Bowling 

Muhammad Majid (Lepton) 29 wickets [Ave 6.59]

Mark Earnshaw Cup: Wicket-keeping 

Oliver Hirst (Hall Bower) 30 victims

Roy Kilner Trophy: Fielding 

Andrew MacLeod (Holmbridge) 21 catches

Cedar Court Conference Three

Jeff Aram Trophy: Batting

David Greaves (Shelley) 404 runs [Ave: 50.50]

GP Valeting Trophy: Bowling

Mohammed Asaf (Emley) 27 wickets [Ave: 12.70]

Denby CC TV Cup: Wicket-keeping

Tim Jones (Shelley) 17 victims

Steve Ashwell Trophy: Fielding 

Chamika Himendra (Lascelles Hall) 7 catches


Latest News

Bad Weather Forces Delay To Opening Fixtures

10th Apr 2024

Wesleyans Host Michael Ball

Walker Timber Becomes Official League Sponsor

CCHC Pod #67 - Paul Cummins (YCB & Skelmanthorpe CC)

View all news »