Readers_header-banner_Homepage Banner.png
Awards: Rudge Crowns Debut Season & Newby Wins Again

Awards: Rudge Crowns Debut Season & Newby Wins Again

4 Oct 2023

Two models of consistency took the batting and bowling prizes for the Premiership after another season of high performance. Skelmanthorpe’s Jack Newby bagged the batting prize in his second season at Lidgett Lane whereas a stunning debut season for Jon Rudge at champions Moorlands claimed the bowling award. Elsewhere, Broad Oak’s Alex Kaye; another player in his first season with the club collected the wicketkeeping honours and Cameron Van Rensburg’s safe hands at Barkisland was enough to take the most catches prize. 

Experienced bowler Jon Rudge (above) has been an instant hit since making the move from Carlton in the Bradford League; a club where he had a lengthy association from two spells. 6-18 in his second match from the dangerous seam bowler set the tone for the season. His average of 12.71 in his 20 league matches played put him ahead of Hoylandswaine’s Max Morley (13.84) and Shepley stalwart Danny Glover (14.54) to collect the Tom Oldham bowling award..

Jack Newby’s intimidating reputation as one of the league’s most dangerous batsmen sees him claim the top batting award. In 2022 he smashed 1,763 runs in all competitions to take the trophy and his exploits  this season means he became the first back-to–back winner of the Tom Oldham Award since South African, Brandon Nash for Delph & Dobcross in 2002 and 2003. Newby’s 928 league runs this season scored at an average of 54.59 puts him ahead of Hoylandswaine’s opening batsman Asif Iqbal (52.38) and young Barkisland and Yorkshire batsman Matty Weston (52.00).

Broad Oak’s Alex Kaye (above) wins the Cyril Thorpe wicketkeeping prize after an excellent first season behind the stumps since signing from Castleford. The former Yorkshire Academy player claimed 30 victims last season with 27 catches and three stumpings and came clear of Skelmanthorpe’s George Sommerville and Hoylandswaine’s Duncan Brown who both snared 27 victims. In the field, Cameron Van Rensburg was awarded the Clifford Sykes Cup for taking 16 outfield catches for Barkisland, narrowly beating his teammate Luke Bridges (14 catches) with Kirkburton’s Johnny Butterfield just falling short with 15 grabs.

All the award winners will receive their prizes at the league’s Awards event on Friday 24th November, at Baines Hall, Elland. Please contact General Secretary Norman Clee on ncleedhcl@btinternet.com if you wish to attend.


Latest News

CCHC Pod #67 - Paul Cummins (YCB & Skelmanthorpe CC)

Captain's & Umpires Meetings Arranged Ahead Of 2024 Season

CCHC Pod #66 - Champagne Moment: Golcar CC

CCHC Pod #65 - Wayne Swift of Swift Teamwear

View all news »