about 20171009 award winners

News Article 

Click here to go back to the news page.

2017 Season Award Winners

9th Oct 2017


Winning the Jack Gledhill Memorial Trophy for the first time was Timmy Taylor (Honley). The established left-handed batsman and spin bowler was the outstanding all-rounder during the 2017 season. 

Following the October Executive meeting, several further award winners were announced.

Jack Gledhill Memorial Trophy (Best All-Rounder)

Young all-rounder, Timmy Taylor (Honley) because the first Honley recipient of this esteemed award, beating off competition from seven-times winner Steve Whitwam (Golcar). The trophy represents an excellent reward for Taylor after suffering a serious cruciate ligament injury in 2016 which caused him to miss most of the season.

Reg Haigh Trophy (Most Promising Young Player)

Delph & Dobcross's outstanding opening batsman rounded off an sterling season in which he also won the Premiership batting award. The Leeds-based youngster has been one of the stand-out captures of the season having been released by Yorkshire Academy in 2016, scoring seven centuries for his new side and accumulated over 1,500 runs helping Delph finish runners-up to eventual champions Hoylandswaine. Hussain edged out stiff competition from Honley opening batsman Will Fraine, joining fellow Delph winners of the same trophy, Chris Laker (2016) and Arron Lilley (2011 & 2012).

Johnny Hunter Rose Bowl (1XI & 2XI Match-winning Performance Of The Season)

Will Reeves (Thongsbridge) picks up the 1XI award for his outstanding solo performance against Cawthorne. The young spinner took 8-40 to completely decimate visiting Cawthorne in a tense Premiership contest. In the 2XI section, another bowler Homfirth's Tony Wilkinson also took 8 wickets as his 8-20 helped his side rout Birkby Rose Hill 2XI. 

The Tom Walker Award (Best Groundsman)

With many grounds around the league now being superb arenas to play cricket in, the Executive, after being recommended by Grounds & Facilities secretary, decided Barkisland looked particularly impressive during 2017. The award goes to David Robinson, the Barkisland groundsman.

FE Greenwood Ground Trophy

Following an extraordinary amount of work carried out over the winter, including an impressive extension to the iconic pavilion creating new state-of-the-art dressing facilities, the Trophy has been awarded to Honley Cricket Club. The award is Honley's tenth in this category which is evidence there is always improvements to be made. Far End Lane has become one of the flagship venues in the league. Congratulations to all involved. 

All award winners will be presented with their trophies at the Annual Awards Dinner at the Cedar Court Hotel on Fri 17 November 2017. 

News Archives: 2011   |   2012   |   2013   |   2014  |   2015   |   2016