about 20171208 sykes draw

News Article 

Click here to go back to the news page.

Cup Draw News

8th Dec 2017

In the 2018 All-Rounder Sykes Cup First round draw, all the major powers were kept apart with last season's Premiership top three Hoylandswaine, Delph & Dobcross and Shepley all facing potential tricky ties at lower-divison opposition. Meanwhile, cup holders Scholes start their defence away from home and finalists Broad Oak face familiar Premiership opposition.

Scholes may potentially start their Sykes Cup defence on unfamiliar ground away at Holmbridge, although Lascelles Hall might have something to say first in their preliminary clash. Broad Oak, the Sykes Cup runners up will have to negotiate their way past a tricky tie away at Premiership Thongsbridge if they wish to repeat their exciting run to the final once again.

Hoylandswaine, champions of last season's Byrom Shield await the winners of the preliminary round decider between Emley Clarence and Sykes Cup debutants Nortonthorpe and Delph & Dobcross will need to set their sat navs to either Almondbury or Cartworth Moor. Shepley also play a waiting game to anticipate the winners between Nortonthorpe and Meltham whom they must travel to.

Three more all-Premiership affairs are Andrew Fortis' Moorlands entertaining Craig Fletcher's Kirkburton side and top-flight newcomers Mirfield Parish Cavaliers will already be familiar with their Premiership opponents Golcar having played them at the same stage last season. Elsewhere last season's Jedi Sports Championship champions Shelley play host to Cawthorne.

In the Fired Up Paddock Shield first round, holders Kirkburton have been drawn at home to the winners of Kirkheaton and Thurstonland.

All first round matches will take place on Sunday May 6th with the preliminary ties scheduled for Sunday 22nd April.

The full draw for both competitions are as follows:

Sykes Cup Preliminary Round
Upperthong v Denby
Emley Clarence v Nortonthorpe
Almondbury v Cartworth Moor
Cumberworth United v Edgerton & Dalton
Birkby Rose Hill v Linthwaite
Lascelles Hall v Holmbridge
Flockton v Meltham
Denby Dale v Hall Bower
Marsden v Mirfield
Holmfirth v Lepton Highlanders
Thurstonland v Kirkheaton

Sykes Cup First Round
Upperthong or Denby v Elland
Mirfield Parish Cav v Golcar
Slaithwaite v Armitage Bridge
Emley Clarence or Nortonthorpe v Hoylandswaine
Almondbury or Cartworth Moor v Delph & Dobcross
Cumberworth United or Edgerton & Dalton v Honley
Moorlands v Kirkburton
Birkby Rose Hill or Linthwaite v Barkisland
Lascelles Hall or Holmbridge v Scholes
Flockton or Meltham v Shepley
Denby Dale or Hall Bower v Clayton West
Thongsbridge v Broad Oak
Marsden or Mirfield v Skelmanthorpe
Holmfirth or Lepton Highlanders v Almondbury Wes
Thurstonland or Kirkheaton v Rastrick
Shelley v Cawthorne

Paddock Shield Preliminary Round
Hall Bower v Moorlands
Lepton Highlanders v Mirfield Parish Cav
Cartworth Moor v Almondbury
Nortonthorpe v Meltham
Denby v Upperthong
Linthwaite v Thongsbridge
Kirkheaton v Thurstonland
Edgerton & Dalton v Flockton
Mirfield v Marsden
Shelley v Emley Clarence
Holmbridge v Lascelles Hall

Paddock Shield First Round
Barkisland v Birkby Rose Hill
Rastrick v Hall Bower or Moorlands
Honley v Lepton Highlanders or Mirfield Parish Cav
Skelmanthorpe v Cartworth Moor vlmondbury
Hoylandswaine v Nortonthorpe or Meltham
Clayton West v Slaithwaite
Golcar v Cumberworth United
Scholes v Denby or Upperthong
Cawthorne v Linthwaite or Thongsbridge
Kirkburton v Kirkheaton or Thurstonland
Almondbury Wes v Edgerton & Dalton or Flockton
Delph & Dobcross v Mirfield or Marsden
Broad Oak v Shelley or Emley Clarence
Armitage Bridge v Denby Dale
Shepley v Holmfirth
Elland v Holmbridge or Lascelles Hall


News Archives: 2011   |   2012   |   2013   |   2014  |   2015   |   2016